top of page

YA Award Winners and Honorees

The 2022 awards season is in full swing! Stop by the Teen Room and get your hands on these prized books.

Awarded biennially, the American Indian Youth Literature Award identifies and honors the very best writing and illustrations by Native Americans and Indigenous peoples of North America.

American Indian Youth Literature Award:

The goal of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature is to honor and recognize individual work about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage, based on literary and artistic merit.

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature:

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

Coretta Scott King Award Honor:

The Michael L. Printz Award honors the best book written for teens.

Michael L. Printz Award:

The mission of the National Book Foundation is to celebrate the best literature in America, expand its audience, and ensure that books have a prominent place in American culture.

National Book Award:

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Newbery Award Honor:

The Pura Belpré Award is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Pura Belpré Award:

The Stonewall Book Awards are presented to books that have exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgendered experience.

Stonewall Book Award:

The Sydney Taylor Book Award is presented annually to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience.

Sydney Taylor Book Award:

The William C. Morris Award is given to a work of young adult literature by a "first-time author writing for teens".

William C. Morris Award:

YALSA's Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults, ages 12-18.

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction:


bottom of page